Online forum 

These forums are a place where you can ask other young people advice on dealing with tough times and share your advice on what has worked for you. Please remember that it does not replace professional advice.

Before you can post or reply in these forums, please join our online community.

You should also have a read of the community rules. Forum membership is open to anyone residing in Australia.

Join the online communityLogin to post

Topic: In a rut

2 posts, 0 answered
  1. lclaire01
    lclaire01 avatar
    2 posts
    1 January 2019

Hi,

I was diagnosed with major depression with suicidal tendencies and anxiety when I was 14 years old (now 22). I've been on and off medication over the last 8 years. The last time I was on medication was a year ago. I have been studying at university interstate for the past 5 years, I grew to love the town and I made the best friends I've ever had. I recently graduated university and we all went our separate ways with most of my friends starting work soon. I've moved home as I haven't found work yet. Since moving home I've just felt hopeless, I have so much grief and worry, dreading starting a new life somewhere else and loosing the friendships I made. I'm not ready to say goodbye to the old life I had because it feels like the last time I was truly happy. Since being home I'm constantly tired, my self esteem has plummeted, I feel worthless, disgusting and not good enough. I have this overbearing weight of sadness on me. I am constantly putting myself down telling myself I'm not good enough to get a job and picking apart my body, questioning why I'm not good looking or skinny enough for any guy to be interested in me. I have one genuine friend left in my hometown, but I'm feeling this crushing loneliness, I feel like I have no one. Part of my anxiety is social anxiety and the thought of moving to a new town and making new friends is so stressful because I feel like I'm not good enough or interesting enough for p